AniMed Vita Calm


Eligible for free e-certification with purchase
2 lb
Less than $0.39/DAY
(32 day supply)


In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours.
5 lb
Less than $0.33/DAY
(80 day supply)


In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours.
Shipping weight = 2.50 lbs.


Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.


Frequently Bought Together:

Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.

Product Summary:

AniMed™ Vita Calm with Live Yeast Cultures


Nutritional blend that includes a supplemental source of natural calming ingredients for anxious, restless or high strung horses

·         Contains 1000mg l-Tryptophan, 500mg Thiamine, 20mg Calcium, and 2.5mg Magnesium

·         Also includes Yea-Sacc® 1026 which provides a source of live, naturally occurring beneficial micro-organisms to help promote the best possible digestion, help stabilize cecal and colon pH and encourages healthy digestion and gut stability

·         Available in 2 pound and 5 pound containers each packaged with scoop for easy feeding
Feed daily with feed ration 2 tbsp per 1000 lb body weight.
Feed 2 to 4 tbsp 3 to 4 hours prior to event.

For Product Information and MSDS Sheet, please click on Manufacturer’s Information to the right.

Downloadable Resources
Product LabelManufacturer Information

Product Reviews by Customers

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 30 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tip for Feeding Supplements I purchased this product for my grandchild's 18 year old mare and 22 year old gelding. It worked great on both horses. The mare wouldn't eat her feed with all the supplements at first. If the horse won't eat their feed with the supplements(especially the granular type)add about 1/2 cup water(depending on the amount of feed) and mix well. I read this tip on another supplement that I purchased from this site. The mare licks the bottom of her bucket dry now. June 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Yay! Something that works! My 5 year old PB Arabian mare was acting frantic during turnout, running all day and losing weight. I bought this stuff, and she's like a new horse. Laid back, grazes calmly all day...just much happier. No anxiety. She's also easier (wasn't really a problem before though) under saddle. Just more laid back and chill. Highly recommended! June 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by overall - impressive I have a GORGEOUS 13yr old paint gelding who I love dearly and have owned since he was 2 ... but he's nuts. I believe he was "cowboy" broke/abused before I bought him as he has always been VERY fearful /tense/anxious (causing countless headaches and issues). I never thought I'd be able to ride him, but refused to sell him because I can't imagine what would happen to him elsewhere. All that being said I decided after reading the reviews that for the price of the product I would give it a shot. I am VERY impressed. I never wanted to "drug" my horse which is why I haven’t purchased a "calming" supplement for him before. I can honestly say this has NOT made him "dopey." He is still very much his puppy-dog like playful energetic self it just seems to have taken the "stupid" aka nerves out of him. Since using this product he's been a dream to handle and I have resumed him training! He still gets nervous but seems to be able to calm down faster and accept things now where before he'd just flip out and all hell would break loose. One review said the horse stopped weaving… I WISH he would stop weaving but unfortunately he still does that (perhaps I just need to up the dosage) however I didn’t expect ALL of his anxiety issues to be fixed. Several review mention their horse won’t eat it. In all fairness not every horse will like the taste of every product (my guy doesn’t like eat/like apples!) and in those cases I think it is unfair to say it “didn’t work”… of course it didn’t because your horses never ingested it! My horse GOBBLES this up with his grain. This has definitely helped SIGNIFICANTLY and I will be using this product from here on out. As I continue to work with him/train him I will post my progress! May 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Calmed and Tightness Gone! My mare is a totally new horse. She's always been high strung and jumpy/tense and had gotten to be a challenge to ride. With Vita-Calm she's become calm, easy to ride and very responsive. I had the same result with an older green-broke gelding. Thought I'd never be able to ride him, but now with Vita-Calm he's much more willing to train and less jittery. March 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this product! My paint gelding was starting to develop an attitude in his stall at feeding time as well when it came time to ride. He was getting jumpy and a little unpredictable. I was getting nervous when the owners of my barn would feed him and be going in and out of stall. He was starting to kick the boards out of his stall, and I didnt want an accident to occur with someone. I was 50/50 about this product after reading some of the reviews, some good some bad. After Bentley being on this product for a week I noticed a BIG difference in his attitude. I give him 1 scoop in the morning with his feed and he gobbles it up! Hes much calmer in his stall, and more focused when riding. I highly recommend this product for someone looking to help take the edge off their horses. This product is something I will continue to give my gelding. February 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Would Not Eat It My horse is always a little jumpy so I got this thinking it would help but he wouldn't eat it. I even feel he has gotten more spooked at things. February 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really works I used this in the last 3-4 months. I haven't used in the last week as I've run out and notice a big difference in behavior. They spook more easily and are more anxious. I'm sold. Easy to use--just sprinkle on feed and they gobble it up. October 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by really works i got this for my 6yr.old half quarter half walker mare, she is very reactive , but this product has done wonders for her . this product does not work on all horses though, my daughter used this on her quarter horse and it made her very hyper. it did just the oppsite of what it is supposed to. these two horses are mother & daughter. i would recommend this to anyone with a horse who truly needs to be calm. October 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vita-Calm this is an amazing product. It helps my 13year old MFT to focus and listen to commands. August 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Product! My Daughter has a QH that she competes in Cowboy Mounted Shooting with. He is the herd leader at home, but when we take him to shoots he becomes very insecure without the herd. While we are working on building his confidence in the arena away from the herd, we tried Vita-Calm for our last shoot and her horse had all the confidence in the world! It was just enough to take the edge off so that he would focus on my Daughter! He responded to every cue and ran the courses without fail. They even won the second day! Great product, we feel blessed to have found something to help him out while we work on his confidence! I have to admit, I was sceptical, but it really worked for us! July 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing My horse is crazy he has so much speed and didn't know how to use it all together and was extremely gate sour and i tried it at a show and he was so good he made the best runs he has ever made in his barrel and pole career im defiently gonna be getting more when im done! May 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Miracle I was at my wits end before Vita calm.My young daughters horse was great except in the arena,were she would flip out rear up and run away with my daughter.Now she's calm cool and collected.She's even a breeze to load now.She even loves the taste. April 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Great! We use this for my daughter's mare. It calms her down so that she goes only as fast as my daughter asks her to go. Her coat is beautiful year round and she loves the taste! April 18, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality Product Not only helps with the horse digestive system, but helps to keep the young horse calm when working with them. February 10, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by not so great review Doesn't work. I have a spooky horse and although he loves the taste, it has not helped with "calming" him down. December 23, 2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by not so good My horse actually got worse since I started feeding it. Now he will not stand still at the trailer and a few other things he's doing that he didn't use to do. December 15, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Calming effect for Horses I use this on my horse and this product works better than other products I have used. Works great! My horse does not mind it in his food either. November 28, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by lifesaver i was truly at the end of my rope with my appy gelding. he was so nervous and spooky, i was nervous even brushing him, let alone riding him.(the last time i'd been on him, he'd spooked so violently upon seeing my friend walking around the corner of the barn, that i was thrown and cracked a rib.)if i tried to lunge him, he'd be ok, until a leaf blew the wrong way. then he'd buck and pull so hard that i could barely hold onto him.i couldn't let my dog around him either because he'd charge him and throw kicks at him for no reason.i'd tried several other calming supplements, but none had worked. because of the price, i gave this a try. what a difference! i can brush or blanket him now without fear that he'll spook and jump ontop of me. he still looks at things, but doesn't jump out of his skin like he used to. he doesn't seem aggressive to my dog anymore either. i won't let them loose together, just in case, but through the fence or over the stall door, there is no more ears pinned at him or anything. he just ignores the dog now.i trust this horse enough now to allow my 2 year old son to pet him, something i never would've done before. he's not drugged or dopey, either, which is important to me. he still lover to run and play in his paddock, and has as much energy as he ever did. he just seems alot calmer, safer, and i think happier too. November 2, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by No better choice! I got this product to help my half Arab mare chill out at Fair for the 12 yr old riding her. I didn't have the opportunity to test it before hand but boy did it work great. Just took enough of the edge off in the arena (the only place she's overly excited)to allow her intermediate rider to do her thing and place in pretty much every class. And without knockin my horse out or makin her stupid. I highly recommend this product for any hot or possibly hot or just overly excited horse September 15, 2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't live without this stuff!!! I purchased a 4yr old Tennessee Walker Mare last winter and when I got her home she was totally nuts!!! Couldn't catch her,very spooky and terribly head shy. If I was lucky and she came up to me to feed,she was always in a stretched out stance ready to flee any second. I tried the Vita-Calm and saw a difference within the first week. She gets it everyday in her feed and is now a stable,workable horse. We couldn't live without this stuff!!! September 7, 2010
  • 2015-11-30 T10:29:55.737-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_30, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_BWA59, stg, sort_default
<<prev2 3 next>>
Browse 5 questions and 52 answers
Hide answersShow all answers | Sort by
Why did you choose this? Store
I was using Horse Health Vita-B1, and I decided to try the Vita-Calm along with it. Our little quarter pony calmed down and our farrier said he thought he was trimming a different horse!
Jill m on Nov 16, 2015
to calm my 12 year old mare who seems to be very nervous
Jean S on Jul 30, 2015
price and saved me a trip to Tractor Supply Co
Joanne S on Nov 6, 2015
my horse gets nervous leaving the barn and id like to feed this with her pellets over show weekends and on trail rides
maile b on May 24, 2015
I have a 4 yr old Arabian that is VERY high strung and nervous all the time. I am wanting to take her to her first show in the spring. Would this help calm her down and help her in a very stressful event?
Brianna B on Jan 11, 2014
Best Answer: Yes this product helps moderate that sort of behavior...but you have to tackle the nervous horse more ways than just a supplement, such as do not feed alfalfa or reduce it to a mix fed once a day (to help with possible ulcer responses to stress), and add a supplement for ulcer care, feed more frequently, perhaps add mare products;)....naturally it's best to school nervous horses elsewhere as much as possible so that you learn to allow tons of time for your horse to learn to accept new situations....I always go early and walk my horses around, standing by "scary" things feeding treats reassuring, etc. Animed vita-calm is a really top notch effective product that can enhance calming....I feed it daily then double for stressful days. Good luck!
Reply (1) · Report · Sabrina W on Jan 11, 2014
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
I have a mare that is normally fairly calm, but if I take her out of her own or trailer her anywhere she's pacing and dripping sweat everywhere! Will this product work for her?
A shopper on Sep 20, 2015
Best Answer: It may help, but it sounds like she is missing her friends or just her home. Some horses sweat a lot in the trailer in general, without the other nervous type symptoms. I would be more concerned about the pacing, that's where the vita calm might help. I used it with injured horses that were confined to stall rest for long periods of time, to cut down on the screaming and running around in the stall on an injured leg. It may take several days before a change is noticeable, so you can't just give it to her on the day you're planning to take her somewhere. You would have to plan ahead, or just give it to her daily all the time. Does she act the same when she has a friend in the trailer with her?
Reply · Report · Nelia R on Sep 28, 2015
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
Looking for a pure tryptophane like you used to sell years ago. Not a mixture. What is in Vita Mix?
marian f on Sep 24, 2014
Best Answer: I think it is herbal, natural. I have a bucket
of a similar product I use Arabs who tend to run hot. I still lunge before riding and sometimes give them the calming agent. I am on the road until end of month so I cannot access the barn.
But, the inert ingredients should be listed.
I do see a difference when I use and the horses like it

Reply · Report · Ron K on Feb 16, 2015
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
Is this legal for USEF/FEI competition?
A shopper on Feb 5, 2015
Best Answer: I wouldn't think so; the label lists L-Tryptophan as an ingredient, and it does caution users to check with event sanctioning for necessary withdrawal time.
Reply · Report · Patricia M on Feb 5, 2015
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)