AniMed Vita Calm


Eligible for free e-certification with purchase
2 lb
Less than $0.39/DAY
(32 day supply)


In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours.
5 lb
Less than $0.33/DAY
(80 day supply)


In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours.
Shipping weight = 2.50 lbs.


Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.


Frequently Bought Together:

Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.

Product Summary:

AniMed™ Vita Calm with Live Yeast Cultures


Nutritional blend that includes a supplemental source of natural calming ingredients for anxious, restless or high strung horses

·         Contains 1000mg l-Tryptophan, 500mg Thiamine, 20mg Calcium, and 2.5mg Magnesium

·         Also includes Yea-Sacc® 1026 which provides a source of live, naturally occurring beneficial micro-organisms to help promote the best possible digestion, help stabilize cecal and colon pH and encourages healthy digestion and gut stability

·         Available in 2 pound and 5 pound containers each packaged with scoop for easy feeding
Feed daily with feed ration 2 tbsp per 1000 lb body weight.
Feed 2 to 4 tbsp 3 to 4 hours prior to event.

For Product Information and MSDS Sheet, please click on Manufacturer’s Information to the right.

Downloadable Resources
Product LabelManufacturer Information

Product Reviews by Customers

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 30 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Is Awesome Stuff! Just like alot of other owners that have tried this, I have an off-the-track thoroughbred who was so spun-up all the time I couldnt even lead him. I started using Vita Calm just three days ago, and today I had one of the best rides of my life! My horse was calm, quiet, and focused. I wish they sold this stuff in 5 gallon buckets!! April 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This really does work I have a 16yr old gaited Appaloosa who is beyond a "handful" he is incredibly hard to ride, will rear, buck up if you hold him back and wants to rack on the whole time you are riding him. His mouth is tough and he is very powerful. I decided to give this a try but I bought mine from Tractor Supply which is a little more by a few dollars. He has been on this sup for almost 2 weeks and with a change in bit he is perfect now. He was using a broken mouth, twisted wire wonder bit but now is on a med. port walking horse bit. He is like a completely different horse. I took him on a ride in the park yesterday and it was all walk, no pulling the bit, no rearing or running off. He was calm but happy. His edge was completely gone! He was level headed and actually stretched out his neck to the ground a couple times while walking. He was totally relaxed. I highly recommend this to people who are having the same problem I was with him. It really does help to calm them down but he has not acted druggy or tired. The price is low enough to give it a try! March 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by really works! I moved my horse to a new barn in Nov after spending all his 10 years here at home in my backyard. His old buddies passed away and I didn't him alone. I moved him to a boarding stable and he went berserk. My poor boy. Upon arrival at the new barn he was drenched in sweat (after a 15 min ride). He was frightened, pissed off, worried and oh so stressed out. And so was I to see him like this. I went and worked with him several days a week, but it's like his training had gone out the window. He was acting dangerous. I put him on this product and went back to working on ground manners. I rode him often and most importantly, were still working on learning to be tied again so he can stand patiently. I think this product in combination with the training and riding is working magic. He's a changed horse and it's only March. He has really mellowed out and can relax now. He still has some anxiety but I think we're on a good path to fixing things. Hope my review helps and can help you and your horse. March 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! I moved my horse from a small private, very quiet barn. To a very public, loud, busy stable. Along with the extreme change of scenery, we also had to change the kind of hay he got. So my horse (storm) was quite stressed and stopped eating. and would spook at the slightest things (which was very unlike him) and was overall having a hard time settling in. So I thought I would try Vita calm as it had such great reviews. and after one day of use Storm was a lot more like his old self. He was eating all of his hay and no longer cared about the rustle and bustle of the busy barn. yet he wasnt dopey/drugged out either. He was attentive, and focused. He still had energy, but he was stupid. It "took out the stupid." Deffinatly recommend this product. and with the stateline tack price ($21 at my local tack store!) its a great bargain for a great product! February 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It Works! My new Haflinger gelding is/was prone to bolting when faced with new situations. I started him on Vita Calm two weeks ago, as an experiment, and it worked!! He is really listening and paying attention more to his rider than before. He received one scoop daily, not sluggish, druggy or slow...just attentive! October 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing! I got a very, very high strung stallion last winter..he really was "crazy", could not ride w/o head flying everywhere, bucking & rearing constantly, name it! Told by many that he would end up killing me..started to think that was a constant battle to stay on & rode him daily, thinking he just needed more hours(he hadn't been ridden for months before me)..started this product..did a bit of experimenting on he is amazing!! I did need to adjust the dose quite a bit..but it works & I can now ride w/no "issues" & no more "attempts" to loose me!! He is not at all druggy or dopy..still goes like the wind & I don't need to be super glued to the saddle ;) October 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Works Works I love this stuff. And even better my gelding is back to his old self. He was a calm quiet yearling. I am not sure what changed but when he became a 2 year old he became very reactive and flightly. I didn't start training him until he was 3 and although he became "broke" he was hard to ride. Little things would set him off....the branch by the arena that wasn't there before or the barrel that we had been going around all of a sudden didn't look right. And forget it if you changed anything in his enviroment. He would spin and run from a pile of rock that hadn't been there before. I have trained many horses but nothing helped with his flightiness. I tried Quiessence for quite a while and it seemed to take some of the edge off but this past year it seemed to stop working. I decided to try Vita-Calm. Mostly because it was cheap and I thought "what do I really have to lose?". It works miracles on him! Things that I think will cause him to flip out (because it would have in the past) he will simply tilt his head at and walk past. I can even take him on trail rides without him thinking every fallen tree is a horse eating monster. I LOVE this and will continue to use it. July 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE THIS STUFF I have a pony that's gate, buddy, and barn sour and i was only ever able to take him out of the pasture for about 1 min before he would start to flip out and want to go back, and when in the pasture if you were riding him after about 20 min he would decide he's done and throw his head a charge. Even though i worked with him he still would get ansy about stuff. I put him on Vita-Calm and the other day we rode him FOR A WHOLE HOUR or more!!! and 10 min of that was OUTSIDE THE PASTURE!!! and through all of it he never once threw a fit!!! it really does calm him down so that he can focus on what im asking!!! GREAT PRODUCT!!! June 26, 2012
  • 2015-11-28 T10:34:23.759-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_30, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_BWA59, stg, sort_default
2 3 next>>
Browse 5 questions and 52 answers
Hide answersShow all answers | Sort by
Why did you choose this? Store
I was using Horse Health Vita-B1, and I decided to try the Vita-Calm along with it. Our little quarter pony calmed down and our farrier said he thought he was trimming a different horse!
Jill m on Nov 16, 2015
to calm my 12 year old mare who seems to be very nervous
Jean S on Jul 30, 2015
price and saved me a trip to Tractor Supply Co
Joanne S on Nov 6, 2015
my horse gets nervous leaving the barn and id like to feed this with her pellets over show weekends and on trail rides
maile b on May 24, 2015
I have a 4 yr old Arabian that is VERY high strung and nervous all the time. I am wanting to take her to her first show in the spring. Would this help calm her down and help her in a very stressful event?
Brianna B on Jan 11, 2014
Best Answer: Yes this product helps moderate that sort of behavior...but you have to tackle the nervous horse more ways than just a supplement, such as do not feed alfalfa or reduce it to a mix fed once a day (to help with possible ulcer responses to stress), and add a supplement for ulcer care, feed more frequently, perhaps add mare products;)....naturally it's best to school nervous horses elsewhere as much as possible so that you learn to allow tons of time for your horse to learn to accept new situations....I always go early and walk my horses around, standing by "scary" things feeding treats reassuring, etc. Animed vita-calm is a really top notch effective product that can enhance calming....I feed it daily then double for stressful days. Good luck!
Reply (1) · Report · Sabrina W on Jan 11, 2014
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
I have a mare that is normally fairly calm, but if I take her out of her own or trailer her anywhere she's pacing and dripping sweat everywhere! Will this product work for her?
A shopper on Sep 20, 2015
Best Answer: It may help, but it sounds like she is missing her friends or just her home. Some horses sweat a lot in the trailer in general, without the other nervous type symptoms. I would be more concerned about the pacing, that's where the vita calm might help. I used it with injured horses that were confined to stall rest for long periods of time, to cut down on the screaming and running around in the stall on an injured leg. It may take several days before a change is noticeable, so you can't just give it to her on the day you're planning to take her somewhere. You would have to plan ahead, or just give it to her daily all the time. Does she act the same when she has a friend in the trailer with her?
Reply · Report · Nelia R on Sep 28, 2015
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
Looking for a pure tryptophane like you used to sell years ago. Not a mixture. What is in Vita Mix?
marian f on Sep 24, 2014
Best Answer: I think it is herbal, natural. I have a bucket
of a similar product I use Arabs who tend to run hot. I still lunge before riding and sometimes give them the calming agent. I am on the road until end of month so I cannot access the barn.
But, the inert ingredients should be listed.
I do see a difference when I use and the horses like it

Reply · Report · Ron K on Feb 16, 2015
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
Is this legal for USEF/FEI competition?
A shopper on Feb 5, 2015
Best Answer: I wouldn't think so; the label lists L-Tryptophan as an ingredient, and it does caution users to check with event sanctioning for necessary withdrawal time.
Reply · Report · Patricia M on Feb 5, 2015
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)