> Shop By Brand > Farnam > Item # SLT180310

Farnam Cough Free


Eligible for free e-certification with purchase
Less than $0.51/DAY
(32 day supply)


In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours.
Less than $0.45/DAY
(96 day supply)


In Stock. Usually Ships within 24 hours.
Shipping weight = 1.39 lbs.


Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.


Frequently Bought Together:

Sometimes, manufacturers require that products be advertised only at their suggested prices. When we choose to sell these items for less, we display the sale price only in the cart. To see the price, click Add to Cart.

Product Summary:

Herbal powder treats symptoms of heaves, allergies, stable cough and congestion. All-natural, test free, with no fillers. Works fast.

Active Ingredients:
Elecampane Root, Ginger Root, Fenugreek Seed, Ferrous Sulfate Monohydrate, Sulphur, Dehydrated Kelp, Dicalcium Phosphate, Comfrey Root, Charcoal, Calcium Carbonate
Dosage & Administration:
Feed two scoops per day for the first five days. And one scoop a day until coughing discontinues. If the horse isn’t eating well, take 2 scoops in a little warm water and dose syringe into horses throat. Enclosed scoop holds 1/2 oz
1 lb. - 32 day supply (based on maintenance dose)
3 lbs. - 96 day supply (based on maintenance dose)

Additional Information

Guaranteed Analysis:
Protein, min. - 10%
Fat, min. - 10%
Fiber, max. - 10%
Calcium, max. - 1.9%
Calcium, max. - 2.4%
Phosphorous, min. - 0.8%
Iron, min. - 9000 ppm
Sulfur, min. - 1%

Downloadable Resources
Product LabelManufacturer Information
MSDS SheetManufacturer Information

Product Reviews by Customers

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 18 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by My horse hated it! My horse, who is typically not picky, would not eat this when I added it to his grain. It smells very strong of herbs and I guess he didn't like that. I tried to return it, but does not take back consumables. However, they did give me gift certificates instead, which was nice. November 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works, but then cough comes back! I've been using this product for some time now for my mare. It doesn't immediately work, but after a couple weeks her cough will be gone, but in 1-3 months it always comes back. I haven't had any problems with my horses eating this supplement. July 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works GREAT! My horse was having trouble breathing, and had very flared out nostrils. She was very congested. So I looked around on the internet for something that can help with that, and I found this. This works AMAZINGLY. I started giving it to her everyday, twice a day for a week, and she was much better. She started breathing better, and her nose was very runny. Which was a good sign, because her congestion was getting relieved. Now I've just been giving it to her once a day, every day. The only thing bad, is that when I first got it,and opened it, It smelled terrible. My horse didn't like it at first, but after a while she got used to it. Just mix it in with your horses grain. But i recommend this. If you have a horse that is badly congested, then get this. It works. April 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by It is great product but my horse keep on rejecting My horse have few supplements, she will keep on picking them out and leaving cough free out! I tried to wet the grain and mix it out but she still wastes the grain. But it works great before she starting to rejecting it. March 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product!! I have been using Cough Free for 6 month. My horse has heaves and this is very helpful. I notice some of you say the horse refuses - due to taste/smell. I use Omolean (a sweet feed) to mix. Just a handfull, mix a little water, and scoop of Cough Free every day. He LICKS THE PAN DRY!! my only reason for the water, when he put his nose in to eat - and breathes out - the stuff blows right up in his nose!! Then he sneezes and it goes everywhere. Wastes the product, and frustrates him. February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works fast!! I had been using Anihist for over a month, it controlled the cough, but not eliminated it. I ran out and tried Cough Free. Wow!! 1 dose with remarkable improvement! 4 doses and no more cough! But, my mare hated the flavor too, but I added 5 or 6 licorice flavored horse treats to her soaking beet pulp and stirred her grain, the Cough Free and the beet pulp mix all together. She vacuums it up!! February 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Didn't help We have a quarter horse that suffers from sweet itch in the summer, cough in the winter. We thought her cough was from smoking the alfalfa in her hay, so we got hay this year with no alfalfa but when the cough persisted we tried this product. It smells like charcoal and the horse hates it. We got her to reluctantly eat it in sweetfeed with a little corn oil, but it has not helped her cough. We will try something else with her; I hate to torture her if it is not going to help. January 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Smells Strange My horse is pretty finicky and curled his nose up at this stuff and did not eat his feed with it in it until I mixed it with cornmeal. Don't know if it helps the cough because he's still getting the Annihist. September 7, 2011
  • 2015-11-28 T10:35:00.197-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_18, tr_18
  • loc_en_US, sid_SLT180310, stg, sort_default
2 next>>
Browse 4 questions and 32 answers
Hide answersShow all answers | Sort by
Why did you choose this? Store
for horse that had respiratory issues.
Joanne S on Nov 6, 2015
It works
Kathy M on Oct 14, 2015
Used this for years and love this product, it really works.
Robin W on Oct 21, 2015
I have used it before & liked the results.
Donna J on Sep 26, 2015
My horse sneezes a lot from her allergies. She doesn't cough a whole lot. But does any one know if this will help with her sneezing?
A shopper on Feb 19, 2015
Best Answer: I would definitely try it! It is meant for allergies, so I would guess that it would! My mare has SEVERE allergies seasonally and it helped- it didn't clear everything but she also has other issues which the a visit to the vet to flush sinuses and switching hay fixed. I will probably buy more in a few months because she seems to be allergic to everything in the summer! The only thing is that it is not very palatable for picky eaters, but if your horse is good with spiked feed, I would get it. It has a lot of natural herbs to combat allergies. And if it doesn't help, I would suggest a visit to the vet. (And if your vet already thought it was allergies, I would be very confident that it would work).
Reply · Report · Jacina D on Feb 20, 2015
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (2)
I have a horse that has hives she coughs a lot will this help her?
HEATHER R on Mar 27, 2014
Best Answer: Hi Heather, I give this to a horse that has summer pasture heaves. Not sure which type yours has but answer is based on the summer pasture heaves. It works pretty good against what is available on the market now and with use everyday keeps my mare pretty comfortable through the summer season with only a few bad days. Because it's a powder, she coughs pretty bad when eating her grain so I started wetting her feed and that eliminated the problem. I also give her the Vita Flex Acculytes electrolyte (also sold here on Stateline) every day and I have found the two in combination give the best results. Good Luck!
Reply · Report · Kathleen D on Mar 27, 2014
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)
what would the dosage be for a pony?
A shopper on Jul 25, 2015
Best Answer: I would guesstimate based on weight/size. For my horses I give the amount on the container to my typical sized horses and just do a bit less for my tiny Arab. I don't remember the directions but if the dosage was one scoop for a typical sized horse and your pony is about half sized then do half a scoop... if you have a mini more like a quarter scoop. Also keep in mind it is unlikely you could overdose this unless given for weeks. (In my opinion and experience.)
Reply · Report · Jennie K on Jul 27, 2015
· Add Answer · I Have This Question Too (0)